Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu is the martial art taught by all Bujinkan Dojos. It is comprised of elements from nine separate classical martial art schools, which have been brought together by the current soke Masaaki Hatsumi Sensei.


It is a sōgō bujutsu (総合武術 – Comprehensive martial art) which includes bōjutsu (techniques involving six foot staff), jōjutsu (techniques involving four foot staff), kenjutsu (sword techniques), battojutsu (drawing and cutting with a sword), sōjutsu (spearmanship) and naginatajutsu (techniques using a glaive) among other disciplines.


The nine schools or ryuha are:

  • Togakure Ryu Ninpo - Hidden Door School

  • Koto Ryu Koppojutsu - Tiger Knocking Down School

  • Gyokko Ryu Koshijutsu - Jewelled Tiger School

  • Kukishinden Happo Biken - Tradition of the Nine Demon Gods

  • Takagi Yoshin Ryu Jutaijutsu - High Tree, Willow Spirit

  • Kumogakure Ryu Ninpo Happo Biken - Hidden Cloud School

  • Gyokushin Ryu Ninpo Happo Biken - Jewelled Heart School

  • Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu - Immovable Heart School

  • Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu - Way of Justice School


Some of the schools are complete martial arts in their own right, while others are more specialised and are meant to complement existing martial skills.


Instruction is given in both armed and unarmed combat combining both traditional and modern applications though the training syllabus called the Ten Chi Jin Ryaku No Maki. This guides the student from fundamental body movement, basic techniques and core forms from the classical schools, it additionally includes the passing of oral knowledge and teaching traditions that are not within the densho scrolls).